9 Researchers Get N50m NCC Grant For Telecoms Research

The Nigerian Communications Commission (NCC) has given a  N50 million grant to nine researchers in  Nigerian institutions  to carry out research in the telecommunications sector.

Prof.  Umar Danbatta, Executive Vice Chairman of NCC, while presenting the award letters in Abuja, said the grant  would go a long way in transforming the  country’s  telecoms  sector.

Danbatta said the grant was in recognition of the role of the academia in the development of the telecoms sector.

“Under this project, tertiary institutions submit detailed and well thought out research proposal to the commission on innovative use of telecommunications to solve national problems.

“These prototypes which can be so varied include the development of a commercially viable prototype of their research, ‘’ he said.

He said 56 proposals from the academia were received  in 2016  by the commission, with only three selected  for grant   by the Inter-Agency Committee  comprising of the academia and industry members.

Danbatta said 96 proposals were  received in 2017,  with six successful after stringent evaluation.

He warned the researchers against showcasing the research work or its prototype to any organization  or at any exhibition until  NCC receives it.

“We have set out clear terms and conditions for the grant. We expect you to abide by the terms of the award.

“In addition, we wish to provide a word of caution; you are not under any‎ circumstance to showcase the work or the prototype to any bodies or organisations or at any exhibition until the commission has received the final prototype and signed  off on it,” he added.

In his remarks, Prof Muhammad Muazu,  the Chairman of the Inter-Agency Committee  said the process that produced the nine researchers given grant  was thorough and transparent.

NCC gave the breakdown of the  N50 million  grant   and the institutions awarded  as   Covenant University Ota, (N9,321,400), Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University, Bauchi( N5,916,00) and  Enugu State University of Science and Technology (N1, 381,000) .

Also included were Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile Ife (N3,545,266.00),  University of Port Harcourt (N5, 265, 000.00), Nigeria Air Force Institute of Technology,  Kaduna (N5,000,000.00) and Elizade University, Ilara-Mokin  (N5,000,000.00.), Ahmadu Bello University(ABU),  Zaria,   got N12,332,000 and  N6,995,180.00.

Speaking on behalf of the awardees,  Prof. Sani Suleiman of ABU, Zaria,  thanked the commission for the confidence reposed in them, urging it  to ensure that the laudable initiative was  extended to telecoms operators.




For News, Articles, Opinions, write-ups, advertisement, and other related issues or Invitation to cover your events, please contact The Editor, newsbeamonline@gmail.com or nationalnewsbeam@gmail.com OR call 07011172166(WhatsApp), 07088886879, 08022433068, 08038472758 (WhatsApp) or NATIONAL NEWSBEAM on Telegram

0 0 vote
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Pin It on Pinterest